ICMAT, Madrid, Spain.

June 26-30, 2017.


Welcome to XI International Summer School on Geometry, Mechanics and Control organised by the Geometry,  Mechanics and Control (GMC) Network.

The eleventh edition of the International Summer School on Geometry, Mechanics and Control will be held at ICMAT in Madrid, Spain, in June 26-30, 2017 (New location!).

The school is oriented to young researchers, Ph.D. and postdoctoral students in Mathematics, Physics and Engineering, in particular those interested in focusing their research on geometric control and its applications to mechanical and electrical systems, and optimal control. It is intended to present an up-to-date view of some fundamental issues in these topics and bring to the participants attention some open problems, in particular problems related to applications.  This year the courses will be delivered by:

  • Franco Magri, Università degli Studi di Milano-Bicocca, Italy.
    • Abel, Jacobi, Kowalewski and beyond: The purpose of the course is to present a few reflections on the art of solving the equations of motion of a dynamical system, suggested by the reading of the works of Abel, Jacobi, and Kowalewski in this domain. The main ideas will be gathered in the first third of the course, following a historical perspective. Then, in the second third, a new guiding principle will be derived from the above analysis, which will be condensed in the so-called "Kowalewski's conditions". These conditions will be put at work in the last part of the course, in one or two classical and significant examples.
  • Peter Olver, University of Minnesota, USA.
  • Cesare Tronci, University of Surrey, UK.
    • Geometry and symmetry in quantum and classical-quantum dynamics: After a brief review of basic concepts in quantum mechanics, symmetry methods are applied to provide new variational principles for the dynamics of pure and mixed states in different pictures (Schrödinger, Heisenberg, Dirac, Wigner-Moyal, and Ehrenfest). In addition, a hybrid classical-quantum Lie-Poisson bracket is presented for expectation value dynamics, thereby shedding new light on the coupling between quantum and classical degrees of freedom.

                    Lectures notes (FINAL VERSION) are available here.


This School is an activity within the ICMAT Severo Ochoa Excellence Program.

Important dates:

  • Application for scholarship no later than April 30, 2017.
  • Abstract submission for short talks/posters no later than April 30, 2017.
  • Registration no later than May 15, 2017.
  • Accommodation no later than May 15, 2017.

Please send your abstract to


 Updated!! P. Olver's course starts on Thursday.

SHORT TALKS (Tuesday 27):

15:00 Poisson-Minkowski spacetimes. Iván Gutiérrez-Sagredo, Universidad de Burgos, Spain.

15:20 Invariant Poisson-Nijenhuis structures on Lie groups. Zohreh Ravanpak, IMPAN, Poland.

15:40 Geometry of the discrete Hamilton-Jacobi equation applications in optimal control. Cristina Sardón, ICMAT, Spain.
16:30 Moving Frames and Noether’s Finite Difference Conservation Laws. SL(2) case. Ana Rojo-Echeburúa, University of Kent, UK.
16:50 An integrability result for certain nonholonomic systems with symmetry. Nicola Sansonetto, University of Verona, Italy.
17:10 Geometry and control of planar swimming. Marta Zoppello, Università degli Studi di Padova, Italy.


NEW!! Please fill in this form to register to the Summer School.

NEW!! Please register here to pay the registration fee.

The standard registration fee for participants is 200 Euros.

The fee for students, postdocs and retired scientists is 100 Euros.

Financial Support:

A limited number of scholarships for PhD students, advanced undergraduate students, and post-docs, will be provided by the organizers in order to partially cover the travel and/or lodging expenses. 

If you want to apply for a scholarship, please send your CV including names for recommendation letters (and a transcript in case you are an undegraduate student) to

, no later than April 30, 2017.

Lodging reservation:

Rooms will be booked at IES Hotel Escuela nearby the campus, where the conference venue is located. 

The Hotel Escuela is located around 15 km away from Madrid Airport. You can either take a taxi (around 30 euros) or

  1. Take the subway (LINE 8) to Colombia, change to line 9 to PLAZA CASTILLA. There, go to the bus station, Intercambiador Plaza Castilla, the hotel can be reached by the buses 712, 713, 714 and 716. Ask the driver for the bus stop to Hotel Escuela.
  2. From terminal 4 you can also take the local train (Cercanías) to Chamartín, change to line C8 to Ramón y Cajal (1 stop), walk to Calle San Modesto (Fte Hnos Ramón y Cajal stop) to get the bus 716.

Once you get off the bus at ACCESO M-607 S/N stop, you must walk for 5-10 minutes to get to the hotel. 

Dinner will be provided at 20:30 from Sunday to Thursday and breakfast from 7:30, 3 minutes walking distance from the hotel, in the canteen.


We will provide a bus service from the hotel to the conference venue from Monday to Friday and return trip from Monday to Thursday. Friday you must check out before the conference and bring the luggage with you to the bus.



(Updated on June 19, 2017)


Name Affiliation Country
Sergio Álvarez Universidad de Burgos Spain
Philip Arathoon University of Manchester UK
María Barbero Liñán Universidad Politécnica de Madrid-ICMAT Spain
Ángel Ballesteros Universidad de Burgos Spain
Ayhtami Bethencourt de León Imperial College London UK
Marina Delgado Universidad Politécnica de Madrid Spain
Marta Farré Puiggalí ICMAT Spain
Nader Ganaba Imperial College London UK
Iván Gutiérrez Sagredo Universidad de Burgos Spain
David Iglesias Ponte Universidad de La Laguna Spain
Víctor Manuel Jiménez Morales ICMAT Spain
Erwin Luesink University of Twente

The Netherlands

Franco Magri Università degli Studi de Milano-Bicocca Italy
Juan Carlos Marrero Universidad de La Laguna Spain
David Martín de Diego ICMAT Spain
Antonio Michele Miti Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore Italy
Peter Olver University of Minnesota


Javiert Orts Universidad de Valencia Spain
Edith Padrón Universidad de La Laguna Spain
Zohreh Ravanpak IMPAN Poland
Ana Rojo-Echeburúa University of Kent UK
Nicola Sansonetto University of Verona Italy
Leonardo Santilli University of Valencia UVEG Spain
Cristina Sardón ICMAT Spain
So Takao Imperial College London UK
Cesare Tronci University of Surrey UK
Roberto Vega Álvarez Universidad de La Laguna Spain
Marcin Zajac University of Warsaw Poland
Marta Zoppello Univesità degli studi di Padova Italy



Organizing Committee

  • María Barbero Liñán (Universidad Politécnica de Madrid-ICMAT, Spain)
  • David Iglesias Ponte (Universidad de La Laguna, Spain)
  • David Martín de Diego (Instituto de Ciencias Matemáticas (CSIC-UAM-UC3M-UCM), Spain)
  • Edith Padrón (Universidad de La Laguna, Spain)

Scientific Committee

  • Anthony Bloch (University of Michigan, USA)
  • Jair Koiller (Fundação Getulio Vargas, Brazil)
  • Manuel de León (Instituto de Ciencias Matemáticas (CSIC-UAM-UC3M-UCM), Spain)
  • Juan Carlos Marrero (Universidad de La Laguna, Spain)
  • Eduardo Martínez (Universidad de Zaragoza, Spain)
  • Miguel Muñoz Lecanda (Universidad Politécnica de Cataluña, Spain)

How to get here:

The information is available in this link.