4th Iberoamerican Meeting on Geometry, Mechanics and Control

Monday, 7 April, 2014
Friday, 11 April, 2014
IMPA, Rio de Janeiro
Iberoamerican Meeting on Geometry, Mechanics and Control

Organizing Committee

Paula Balseiro (UFF, Brazil)Henrique Bursztyn (IMPA, Brazil) Alejandro Cabrera (UFRJ, Brazil)

Scientific Committee

Henrique Bursztyn (IMPA, Brazil) Hernán Cendra (UNS, Argentina) Pedro L. García (USAL, Spain) Manuel de León (CSIC, Spain) Giuseppe Marmo (INFN, Italy) Juan C. Marrero (ULL, Spain) Eduardo Martínez (UNIZAR, Spain) Miguel Muñoz-Lecanda (UPC, Spain) Joana M. Nunes da Costa (UC, Portugal) Ernesto Pérez-Chavela (UAM, México) Tudor Ratiu (EPFL, Switzerland)

Financial Support: 

If you want to be considered for local financial support, please send an email to iberoatimpa.br with the following information:



-In case you are a student the name of your advisor

Financial Support to Attend the Meeting: March 1, 2014


You have to register at this link




The Iberoamerican Meetings on Geometry, Mechanics and Control are the result of the efforts of different research groups, in various Iberoamerican countries with interest in differential geometry, mechanics and control theory to establish scientific meetings of the specialty. These subject matters are highly topical, interacting in a common area of Mathematics, Physics, Mechanics, and Engineering. This will be the fourth edition of a congress that came up with the idea of promoting the interactions between these disciplines, between the mathematical communities in these countries, while maintaining an international character. This type of conferences are important to keep and to strengthen contacts between the Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American groups and also establish a framework for spreading and for expand cooperation with researchers from other European countries, United States, Canada and China, among others. One of the most important features of this series of conferences is the emphasis on the assistance and active participation of young researchers, with a dual purpose: contribute to improve their training by putting them in contact with great value senior researchers, and promote contact between themselves which could turn out in subsequent scientific collaborations. The congress is held every two years, and will be alternating between Spain and a country of Latin America. The three previous editions has been in in Santiago de Compostela (Spain), June 2008, in Bariloche (Argentina), January 2011, and in Salamanca (Spain), September 2012. This fourth edition will take place in Rio de Janeiro (Brazil) from 4th to 11th April 2014.


Speakers Paula Balseiro (UFF, Brazil) Maria Barbero (Univ. Carlos III, Madrid) Anthony Bloch (Univ. of Michigan) Hildeberto Cabral (UFPE, Recife) Alejandro Cabrera (UFRJ, Rio de Janeiro) Kurt Ehlers (UMCC, Nevada) Maria del Rosario Etchechoury (UNLP, La Plata) Yuri Fedorov (UPC, Barcelona) Sebastián Ferraro (UNS, Bahía Blanca) Frank Michael Forger* (USP, São Paulo) Mark Gotay (UBC, Vancouver) Darryl Holm (Imperial College, London) Greg Huber (UC Santa Barbara) Alberto Ibort (Univ. Carlos III, Madrid) Velimir Jurdjevic (Univ. of Toronto) Fátima Silva Leite (Univ. of Coimbra, Coimbra) Manuel de León (ICMAT, Madrid) Debra Lewis (UC Santa Cruz) Richard Montgomery (UC Santa Cruz) Luis Garcia-Naranjo (UNAM, Mexico) Miguel Rodrigues Olmos (UPC, Barcelona) Edith Padrón (ULL, La Laguna) Matthew Perlmutter* (UFMG, Belo Horizonte) Clodoaldo Ragazzo (USP, São Paulo) Tudor Ratiu (EPFL, Lausanne) Carlos Tomei (PUC, Rio de Janeiro) Alan Weinstein (UC Berkeley) *To be confirmed